Welcome, Log In   |   First time visitor? Create a New Account
       Follow Us on Facebook   Follow Us on Instagram   See our Pins   Follow Us on Twitter    Subscribe to our YouTube Channel   

Empire of the Sun Soundtrack CD John Williams Limited Edition 2CD Set

Archived Product

Presented for informational purposes only

Empire of the Sun Soundtrack CD John Williams Limited Edition 2CD Set:

We proudly present the remastered and expanded, limited edition 2-CD set of John Williams  Academy Award Nominated original score to the 1987 feature film EMPIRE OF THE SUN, directed by Steven Spielberg and starring Christian Bale, John Malkovich and Miranda Richardson. Heralded as one of the acclaimed composer s finest works, Mr. Williams  masterful orchestral score seeks no less than the openness of the human heart, mind and soul   the perfect compliment to this powerful and indelible film about a young English boy s emotional and physical struggle to survive the Japanese occupation of China during WWII.
This deluxe re-issue was produced, assembled and mastered by Mike Matessino in cooperation with John Williams, Steven Spielberg and the film s co-producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall.  Disc 1 contains a full presentation of the film score, including never-before-released music, while Disc 2 pulls back the veil of the creative process with a selection of alternate cues and other additional music. A 28-page CD booklet features handsome art design by Jim Titus and Matessino s exclusive, in-depth essay, approved by the director and composer.
The Film Score
1 Suo G n (extended version)** 3:29
Performed by The Ambrosian Junior Choir Directed by John McCarthy
Soloist: James Rainbird
2 Home and Hearth** 3:50
3 Trip Through the Crowd 2:33
4 Imaginary Air Battle 2:38
5 Japanese Infantry* 3:00
6 Lost in the Crowd 5:44
7 Alone at Home* 2:43
8 The Empty Swimming Pool* 3:14
9 The Streets of Shanghai 5:15
10 The Plane 3:15
11 Jim s New Life 2:34
12 The Pheasant Hunt 4:28
13 The British Grenadiers (traditional) 2:29
14 Cadillac of the Skies 3:53
15 Mrs. Victor and James* 2:11
16 The Return to the City 7:50
17 Seeing the Bomb** 4:48
18 Bringing Them Back* 2:41
19 Liberation: Exsultate Justi 1:53
20 Suo G n 2:23
Performed by The Ambrosian Junior Choir Directed by John McCarthy
Soloist: James Rainbird
21 Exsultate Justi (extended version)** 5:14
Disc 1 Total Time: 76:05
Disc 2:
Additional Music
1 Chopin: Mazurka, Op. 17 No. 4 (excerpt)* 2:14
2 Imaginary Air Battle (alternate)* 2:41
3 Alone at*ome (alternate)* 2: 40
4 The Streets of Shanghai (film version segment)* 1:18
5 The Streets of Shanghai(alternate segment)* 2:17
6 Chopin Again* 1:19
7 The Plane (alternate)* 3:05
8 Cadillac of the Skies (alternate)* 3:51
9 The Return to the City (alternate)* 7:50
10 Exsultate Justi 5:09
Disc 2 Total Time: 32:24
Total 2-CD Time 108:29
Show More

WARNING: Monsters In Motion sells products, including children's products, for purchase by adults 18 years and over. Products may contain sharp points, small parts, choking hazards, and other elements not suitable for children under 16 years old. If any product you are purchasing is intended for a child please assume the following warning may apply to that product. WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.

Your IP Address is:
wabusiness template