Welcome, Log In   |   First time visitor? Create a New Account
       Follow Us on Facebook   Follow Us on Instagram   See our Pins   Follow Us on Twitter    Subscribe to our YouTube Channel   

Cocoon Expanded Soundtrack CD-James Horner

Add to Cart:


Cocoon Expanded Soundtrack CD-James Horner:

World premiere expanded CD of James Horner soundtrack from popular Ron Howard sci-fi/fantasy with legendary cast of veterans including Don Ameche, Wilford Brimley, Hume Cronyn, Jack Gilford, Maureen Stapleton, Jessica Tandy plus Brian Dennehy, Steve Guttenberg, Tahnee Welch. Group of aging friends share life together in rest home, experience fear, fun, love, loss and collectively find mysterious alien pods in the poolhouse carry secrets of youth...at a price. James Horner fashions one of his earliest blockbusters, showcases numerous signature ideas that will grace his work for decades. Magnificent score was also one of first to appear on CD in 1985 (Polydor label), adding luster to project. Horner provides numerous highlights, with spotlights shining in four directions: incredibly warm, transparent love themes, vibrant big band-era pieces for three aged best friends, incredible action cues, powerhouse climactic themes for what lies beyond. Latter music represents some of composer's most inspired writing of all time with two side-by-side action sequences "David Runs To Boat", "The Chase" both building on primary thematic material, culminating in "The Ascension" a massive, emotional tour-de-force! Special mention is due Horner's inspired climax that crescendos in magnificent musical peroration, then recedes with descending series of whole-tone chords to cadence on gently beautiful, final major chord. And true to composer's nature, end credit music ("Theme From Cocoon") is masterful, fully realized composition unlike most of today's customary "cut-and-paste" editorial cues. It is rare that composer's are given opportunities to write hour-long film scores with the luxuries of genuine musical architecture, introducing multiple ideas, developing them, bringing in new themes, parting with earlier ones, gaining momentum, stirring up the musical pot then finally leading everything towards truly magnificent finish. James Horner takes that opportunity, delivers the goods! Entire score newly mastered by Mike Matessino, with significant improvements in stereo image, clarity courtesy multi-track masters housed at 20th Century Fox. Entire production courtesy Fox and Universal Music Group. Additional source cues plus Michael Sembello's "Gravity" appear at end of CD as extras. Authoritative oversight by Nick Redman, informative liner notes by Julie Kirgo plus session photos of composer wrap up entire album with colorful bow. James Horner conducts. Intrada Special Collection release available while quantities and interest remains!

01. Through The Window 2:58 Hear This Track
02. Going To The Pool 1:55
03. Pool Is Closed 2:10 Hear This Track
04. Mysterious Dive 1:54
05. Seduction/Let's Go 2:10
06. Unveiling 1:05
07. Discovered In The Poolhouse 2:47 Hear This Track
08. A Relapse 1:27
09. The Lovemaking 4:24 Hear This Track
10. First Tears 1:51 Hear This Track
11. Rose's Death 2:14

12. Returning To Sea 4:16
13. Sad Goodbye 2:15
14. Sneaking Away 3:15 Hear This Track
15. David Runs To The Boat 1:53 Hear This Track
16. The Chase 4:30
17. The Ascension 6:01 Hear This Track
18. Theme From Cocoon 6:05 Hear This Track
19. The Boys Are Out 2:37

Show More

WARNING: Monsters In Motion sells products, including children's products, for purchase by adults 18 years and over. Products may contain sharp points, small parts, choking hazards, and other elements not suitable for children under 16 years old. If any product you are purchasing is intended for a child please assume the following warning may apply to that product. WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.

Your IP Address is:
wabusiness template