Home ::  Soundtracks on CD and LP ::  Soundtrack CD Item List: M-N ::  Marathon Man/The Parallax View 1976/1974 Soundtrack CD Michael Small Log In/Register    My Account    View Cart    Wish List
Follow Us on Facebook    See our Pins    Follow Us on Twitter   

Freak Flex 30 Deluxe Paint Set #2

Marathon Man/The Parallax View 1976/1974 Soundtrack CD Michael Small


Marathon Man/The Parallax View 1976/1974 Soundtrack CD Michael Small:

FSM presents two superb Michael Small thriller scores long requested on CD: Marathon Man (1976) and The Parallax View (1974), both from the Paramount Pictures vaults—two classic works of pain and paranoia from the 1970s.

Marathon Man gave cinema one of its most iconic and frightening scenes: Laurence Olivier, as a fugitive Nazi dentist, torturing Dustin Hoffman with dental equipment while repeating the perplexing question, “Is it safe?” The film was directed by John Schlesinger from a screenplay by William Goldman (based on his book) and also starred Roy Scheider, Marthe Keller and William Devane. The film is equal parts international intrigue, historical speculation, character development and pitch-perfect suspense—a masterpiece of the genre.

The Parallax View, directed by Alan Pakula (see FSM’s CD of Klute/All the President’s Men), was a political thriller starring Warren Beatty as a quirky reporter who stumbles upon an all-powerful organization, The Parallax Corporation, recruiting assassins for nefarious ends. With its breathtaking filmmaking, paranoid conspiracy theories and downbeat implications, no film made the doom and gloom of the Watergate era so fascinating or pleasurable.

A huge part of the success of both films is their music by Michael Small, a master of the suspense and subtlety required of these pictures. Marathon Man features a melancholy main theme for Hoffman’s troubled graduate student and a foreboding anthem for Olivier’s Nazi, as well as fascinating textural ideas such as pitch-bending strings, ominous piano and piercing synthesizer. The Parallax View centers on a skewered patriotic march for the Parallax Corporation, and features a five-minute pop-rock source cue, “The Parallax Test,” for a pivotal recruitment film. Both scores feature arresting action cues that emerge perfectly from the atmospheric dissonance.

Marathon Man, although produced second, comes first on this CD as it is newly mixed from the original 16-track 2” multitrack tapes for modern stereo sound. No scoring session masters survived for The Parallax View, so its score is presented in mono (given a light stereo reverb for listenability) from the film’s edited music stem.

  • Marathon Man
  • Music Composed and Conducted by Michael Small
  • Main Title 3:00
  • Tragedy at the Truck 1:31
  • In Hot Pursuit/Out of the Race 1:19
  • Bellman and Pram 1:47
  • The Doll’s Demise 0:51
  • Biesenthal Flashback 0:39
  • Soccer Ball 0:56
  • Elsa’s Intrigue 0:36
  • Szell Arrives 0:27
  • Love Scene 3:00
  • The Letter 1:00
  • Airport 0:51
  • Resemble Diamonds/Fountain Appointment 1:48
  • Scylla Stabbed 1:51
  • Doc Dies 0:34
  • Nightmare of the Past 1:22
  • Bathroom Terror 1:49
  • False Rescue 1:12
  • Betrayal/Drilling Horror 0:50
  • Escape 0:44
  • Chase Pt. I 2:08
  • Chase Pt. II 0:57
  • Urgent Phone Call 1:37
  • Calculated Risk/Gang Moves In 1:58
  • House on the Hill/Approaching Showdown 2:39
  • Jewelry Market Pt. I 1:23
  • Market Continuation 0:28
  • The Recognition 1:47
  • Szell Escapes 1:25
  • All That Glitters Pt. I/All That Glitters Pt. II 0:41
  • Too Close/Essen 0:33
  • Diamonds of Death 1:17
  • Babe Tosses Gun 1:53
  • End Credits 2:00
  • Total Time: 48:23
  • Bonus Tracks
  • Main Title (alternate) 2:59
  • Fountain Appointment (alternate) 1:40
  • False Rescue (alternate) 1:09
  • Total Time: 5:52
  • The Parallax View
  • Music Composed and Conducted by Michael Small
  • Commission and Main Title 2:42
  • Morgue 0:51
  • Sheriff’s House 0:58
  • Car Chase 1:12
  • Testing Center 1:05
  • Out to Sea 0:52
  • Slide of Art/Austin Sleeps 1:56
  • Parallax Test 4:55
  • Art in Cafeteria/Suitcase Bomb 3:55
  • Gunmen Search 1:30
  • Joe’s Final Run 1:29
  • End Title 2:02
  • Total Time: 24:01
  • Total Disc Time: 78:30

 Tweet about this product Pin this product 

Add to Cart:

  • Catalog#: 19CDM154
  • Theme(s): Film Score Monthly

Freak Flex 30 Deluxe Paint Set #2
Your IP Address is:
MonstersinMotion.com The finest in movie & television memorabilia & collectibles including model hobby kits, with custom built and finished works of art.
Copyright © 2008-2020 Monsters In Motion and respective copyright owners. All Rights Reserved.