Welcome, Log In   |   First time visitor? Create a New Account
       Follow Us on Facebook   Follow Us on Instagram   See our Pins   Follow Us on Twitter    Subscribe to our YouTube Channel   

War of the Worlds 2005 Soundtrack 2CD Set John Williams

  • Catalog#: 19CDW200
  • Theme(s): Intrada

Click For Important Pre-Order Information
Shipping Monday 28 December, 2020, but go ahead and order now. We will consider it a preorder and will not charge you until the item ships. Many of our products are sold out before they even arrive. This means if you prefer to wait until the product arrives, it may be too late. We recommend using a credit card for preorders, as we will not charge it until the item is ready to ship. This way you can reserve the item with no upfront cost.

Release date subject to change without notice. Please check back here for status updates.
We may assess a 15 percent restock fee on items cancelled within 2 weeks of arrival. An authorization, not a charge, will be made on your card, then dropped. When using your PayPal account you are authorizing them to pay us instantly.
Add to Cart:


War of the Worlds 2005 Soundtrack 2CD Set John Williams:

All newly-expanded and remastered 2-CD set to John Williams 2005 sci-fi gem! Steven Spielberg directs, Tom Cruise stars, Dreamworks Pictures and Paramount Pictures present, Industrial Light & Magic (ILM) provide the spectacular effects and of, course, H.G. Wells lays the groundwork with his ever-influential 1897 novel. With John Williams providing the score, you know everything will be a sensation! It’s a score filled to the brim with all manner of excitement, from the interior and complex, to the richly moving and elegiac, from the powerful and terrifying, to the aggressive and relentless. Think large orchestra replete with chorus! Spielberg’s fresh and visceral take on this classic tale of invaders from another world launching an all-out war on Earth with the goal of nothing less than human harvest and annihilation. Adding his unique vision, Spielberg focuses on a very human story anchored by deadbeat father Ray Ferrier (Cruise) currently in charge of the two children, Rachel & Robbie, (Dakota Fanning, Justin Chatwin) with Ray now in the desperate situation of “growing up” himself and protecting the youngsters at all costs. With invaders from another planet decimating everything in their paths courtesy of their fearsome, towering tripods, the tasks of fatherhood become near-impossible indeed. John Williams contributes to every challenge but a special spotlight must go to the dual musical ingredients of cerebral writing in the manner of Close Encounters Of The Third Kind and incredibly propulsive and charged action in the manner of Jaws, albeit on steroids! This one is dark, oppressive and frightening! New to this 2-CD set are numerous cues (“Watch The Lightning”, “In The Cafe”, “The Basement”, “The Aliens”, “Ogilvy’s End”) that bring additional depth to the score. Precious bars previously unreleased from”The Intersection Scene”, “Attacking The Car”, “The Ferry Scene” and “Probing The Basement” also add extra weight to this sensational music. Creating the climactic sequence (“Boston Street Finale”) proved challenging, with three versions of the cue fashioned. All of them appear on this release. Other extras include an alternate version of the “Prologue And Opening Montage” as well as an alternate “Epilogue”. And listeners can enjoy the opening and closing sequences both with and without the admittedly sensational narration by Morgan Freeman. Our generous set presents the listening experience without the voice in the complete score presentation with the narrated version included in the remastered presentation of the original 2005 Decca album heard on CD 2. 15 minutes of extras round out the second disc. Mike Matessino meticulously mixes, assembles and masters everything with Jeff Bond joining in with highly descriptive and authoritative booklet notes. Kay Marshall designs the “flipper-style” booklet and package, Shawn Murphy engineers, John Williams conducts the orchestra augmented with the Hollywood Film Chorale. Intrada Special Collection 2-CD set available while quantities and interest remain!

01. Prologue And Opening Montage (2:54)
02. Is It Over? (3:05)
03. The Intersection Scene (Film Version)** (4:10)
04. What Happened? (3:36)
05. Driving Away From Trouble** (3:39)
06. Surveying Wreckage/Watch The Lightning* (2:15)
07. Bodies In The Water/Ray And Rachel** (3:47)
08. Attacking The Car** (2:53)
09. In The Cafe* (1:12)
10. The Ferry Scene (Extended Version)** (5:56)
11. Woods Walk* (1:55)
12. Refugee Status (Extended Version)** (4:12)
13. Robbie Joins The Fight (3:27)
14. The Basement* (2:42)
15. Harlan Ogilvy* (2:37)
16. Probing The Basement (Extended Version)** (4:24)
17. The Aliens* (3:16)
18. Ogilvy’s End* (1:49)
19. Red Planet** (3:56)
20. The Basket** (3:17)
21. The Entrance To Boston** (4:43)
22. Defeat And Reunion** (2:35)
23. Boston Street Finale** (2:13)
24. Closing Montage** (1:36)
25. Epilogue (Film Version) (3:14)
CD 1 Total Time: 79:36

01. Prologue (2:53)
02. The Ferry Scene (5:49)
03. Reaching The Country (3:24)
04. The Intersection Scene (4:14)
05. Ray And Rachel (2:41)
06. Escape From The City (3:50)
07. Probing The Basement (4:13)
08. Refugee Status (3:51)
09. The Attack On The Car (2:44)
10. The Separation Of The Family (2:37)
11. The Confrontation With Ogilvy (4:35)
12. The Return To Boston (4:29)
13. Escape From The Basket (9:21)
14. The Reunion (3:17)
15. Epilogue (3:13)
Remastered Original Soundtrack Total Time: 61:11

16. Prologue And Opening Montage (Alternate)* (2:43)
17. Before The Escape (0:35)
18. The Entrance To Boston (Alternate)** (4:40)
19. Boston Street Finale (Alternate No. 1)* (2:03)
20. Boston Street Finale (Alternate No. 2)* (2:00)
21. Epilogue (Alternate)* (3:24)
Total Extras Time: 15:30
CD 2 Total Time: 76:46
Two-Disc Total Time: 156:22

*previously unreleased
**contains previously unreleased music


WARNING: Monsters In Motion sells products, including children's products, for purchase by adults 18 years and over. Products may contain sharp points, small parts, choking hazards, and other elements not suitable for children under 16 years old. If any product you are purchasing is intended for a child please assume the following warning may apply to that product. WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.

New and Pre Orders
Your IP Address is:
wabusiness template