Welcome, Log In   |   First time visitor? Create a New Account
       Follow Us on Facebook   Follow Us on Instagram   See our Pins   Follow Us on Twitter    Subscribe to our YouTube Channel   

Uncommon Valor (1983) Expanded Soundtrack CD James Horner

Add to Cart:


Uncommon Valor (1983) Expanded Soundtrack CD James Horner:
We're proud to present a remastered, slightly expanded reissue of James Horner’s classic war score for UNCOMMON VALOR (1983), directed by Ted Kotcheff and starring Gene Hackman, Robert Stack and young up-and-comers Patrick Swayze and Fred Ward.
The film is a dramatic action picture centered on retired U.S. Marine Colonel Jason Rhodes, who recruits a motley crew of soldiers and leads them on a clandestine operation in Laos. Their mission is the rescue of unacknowledged U.S. prisoners of war (POWs) left behind after the withdrawal from Vietnam, including Rhodes’ son, officially declared missing in action (MIA). The possible existence of such POWs was a topic of considerable interest during the late 1970s and early 1980s. The messy conclusion of the Vietnam War, coupled with the scandals of the Nixon era, had left many Americans alienated from their government and deeply skeptical of official claims that there was no evidence of living POWs in the former war zone.

James Horner was only 30 years old when he was hired to compose UNCOMMON VALOR, but he was already a seasoned composer with such successful films in his career as STAR TREK II, KRULL, BRAINSTORM and SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES, and he was about to enter the A-list of composers in Hollywood with his upcoming hit scores for ALIENS, AN AMERICAN TAIL and COCOON. Horner provides an inventive and effective score, robustly orchestral while endowed with exciting electronic rhythms and Vietnamese textures.

Intrada issued the premiere release of UNCOMMON VALOR in 2014 and it quickly sold out. This new, remastered edition adds about 10 minutes of alternate takes. Produced by Dan Goldwasser and mastered by Chris Malone, it features in-depth liner notes by film music writer John Takis. -QUARTET

1. Vietnamese Solo / Main Title (7:31)
2. Airport (2:21)
3. Tag (2:49)
4. A Lot of us Have Been Killed (1:26)
5. Steal the Sucker (1:44)
6. First trek / Yellow Rain (2:45)
7. Pan Over Hill / Wilkes in Tunnel (7:35)
8. Attack Airbase (3:14)
9. Escape Airbase (3:22)
10. Copters Over Hill (2:51)
11. Final Escape (2:21)
12. End Credits (3:42)
13. Brothers in the Night* (4:48)
Bonus Tracks
14. Main Title (Alternate Mix) (7:15)
15. Main Title Extension (Expanded) (3:08)
16. Parade Ground (3:58)
17. Main Title Extension Vietnamese Overlay (Alternate) (3:15)
Total Disc Time: 64:14

Show More

WARNING: Monsters In Motion sells products, including children's products, for purchase by adults 18 years and over. Products may contain sharp points, small parts, choking hazards, and other elements not suitable for children under 16 years old. If any product you are purchasing is intended for a child please assume the following warning may apply to that product. WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD -- Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.

Your IP Address is:
wabusiness template